Star Wars: The Next Generation

Yesterday Max and I went to see the 3D re-release of Star Wars Episode I: the Phantom Menace. The movie originally hit the theaters less than a month before Max was born ensuring him a childhood of new Star Wars movies, books, toys, and, perhaps most significantly in his life, Legos.  Whatever your opinion is of the second wave of Star Wars movies when they announced the 3D release of Phantom Menace I knew that MAX needed to go. He has seen all of the movies on our TV at home. In 2006 Max sat with me on Father’s Day as we watched all six movies in a row. It was time to see his first Star Wars movie on the big screen. I asked him if he would write a quick blog entry and we decided on an interview format. Here are his thoughts.

Before I got into the movie I asked a couple of  questions to get a baseline.

Me: What is your favorite Star Wars character?

Max: Hmmmm…. General Grievous.

Me: (slightly taken aback) Why?

Max: Because he can wield four light sabers!

Me: OK. My next question was going to be who is your favorite villain. I’ll flip that, Who is your favorite hero?

Max: Is Anakin a hero?

Me: We’ll say yes. He was killed by Darth Vader.

Me: Last character question. What is your opinion of Jar-Jar Binks?

Max: He was a bombad General.”

Me: A what?

Max: A bombad general. I think it is the Gungan word for clumsy.

Me: O-kaaay. Did you enjoy the movie today?

Max: (resounding) Yes.

Me: On a scale of 1-10 how much did you like it?

Max: I guess I’d have to give it a 6.

Me: Why a 6?

Max: It was good, don’t get me wrong, but it isn’t the best Star Wars movie ever made.

Me: What is your favorite Star Wars movie?

Max: The third one.

Me: Return of the Jedi, good choice.

Max: No, the third episode – Revenge of the Sith. [I suppose given his answer to favorite character this isn’t a big surprise. Fanboys, please don’t blame him he is young and impressionable. If anything I guess this is my fault.]

Me: Oh. OK. Let’s get back to Phantom Menace. What was your favorite scene in the movie today?

Max: Duel of the Fates. [Proving that he has surpassed me in his fandom Max has named the scene based on the music score playing when it occurred.]

Me: Um..Duel of the Fates?

Max: (explaining as though to a small child) It is the big light saber dual between Darth Maul, Qui-Gon amd Obi-Wan.

Me: Oh. Great Scene. I would probably have to agree. What was your least favorite scene?

Max: I don’t really have a least favorite part. It’s all pretty good. [This is when I realize there isn’t a single kissing scene in the entire movie. Score one for Mr. Lucas.]

Me: What did you think of the 3D in today’s movie?

Max: I didn’t really like it. There wasn’t much to notice. I usually don’t notice 3D in movies. [When were at the theater Max lifted his 3D glasses a few times because “you get more color without the glasses”.]

Me: Last question. If Episode II – Attacks of the Clones comes out in 3D, would you go see it.

Max. [no hesitation] Yes.

No. We didn't get those glasses.

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Star Wars: The Next Generation”

  1. The Hook says :

    Very cool review!
    I wish the actual movie was this cool….

  2. happinessafterheartache says :

    This is a really interesting perspective. I am a huge Star Wars fan and considered seeing this even though I agree with Max….I don’t usually notice the 3D. It’s funny talking to a different generation of Star Wars fans; I forget that they honestly think the first movie is the “first” movie! I have a second-grader in my class whose favorite character is Boba Fett. Interesting.

    I do have to say though….I asked Tim if he wanted to go see it with me…..he turned me down……because he NEEDS to go with his friends, they were his original Star Wars buddies. The nerve.

    • 5xmike says :

      Boba Fett was Max’s favorite for a long time. I was surprised when he said General Grievous.

      I think Tim and I would get along well. This was just an outing for the boys here as well.

      • Dishing up Disney says :

        Liked the post, I love the first three movies more then the newer three. To be fair though, when we look at the prequels, we have to remember that we are holding them up to the ridiculously high expectations of our love of the originals. The originals had many of the same faults as the prequels, but we look at the originals like a parent looks at their kids. We see these movies as the greatest because they were our first and Lucas could never have lived up to our expectations. Even though I believe in this theory. I’m human, the original three are awesome!

Leave a Reply

